Halbert L. Dunn Wellness Award

Dr. Halbert L. Dunn, often referred to as the “father of the wellness movement,” introduced the concept of wellness in a series of lectures in the 1950s. The lectures provided the basis for his book, High-Level Wellness, which was published in 1961. The National Wellness Institute’s Halbert L. Dunn Wellness Award is the most prestigious award presented by the National Wellness Institute and is regarded as one of the highest honors in the health promotion and wellness fields. Recipients of the award have shown a dedication to wellness over the course of their lifetime, making many significant contributions and offering leadership that furthered the field of wellness.

2022: Dr. Jerome Adams

2021: Gallup

2018: Mark Pettus, MD

2017: John W. Travis, MD, MPH

2016: Dr. Michael O’Donnell

Judd Allen

2013: Judd Allen, PhD

Sandy Queen

2012: Sandy Queen

Don Ardell

2011: Donald Ardell, PhD

Elaine Sullivan

2010: Elaine Sullivan, Med, LPC, LMFT

Bill Hettler

2009: Bill Hettler, MD, CWP

Larry chapman

2008: Larry Chapman, MPH, CWP

Download Your Copy of the Organizational Wellness Inventory PDF


This will close in 20 seconds